Australia vs Pakistan 1st ODI today at Brisbane | Pak Tour of Aus 2017

Related Links: Australia vs Pakistan 2017 Schedule | Aus vs Pak 1st ODI Scorecard

The Aus vs Pak 1st ODI begins today at the Gabba in Brisbane with Pakistan looking to make a mark in an otherwise disappointing tour that had seen them whitewashed 0-3 in the Test series.

Led by Azhar Ali, Pakistan are a much better side in the limited overs. Although the team looks filled up with new faces following either the retirement or ouster of several familiar names, Pakistan remains to be unpredictable when it comes to ODIs and T20Is.

They had an excellent warm up going into the Aus vs Pak 1st ODI at Brisbane by defeating Cricket Australia XI by 196 runs at the Allan Border Field on Tuesday. The batting fired to post 334 on board with Babar Azam scoring 98. Check out the Cricket Australia XI vs Pakistan practice match scorecard here.

Pakistan defended the huge total by bowling out Cricket Australia XI for just 138 with Hasan Ali taking three wickets.

Gabba, Brisbane Photo

Gabba, Brisbane

Their ODI against a formidable Australian team led by Steven Smith will be a lot different though. In the last 19 ODIs between the two teams, Australia has gone on to defeat Pakistan 15 times.

The last Australia vs Pakistan ODI was in the ICC World Cup 2015 when the Aussies downed Pak by six wickets in the quarter final match at Adelaide.

Australia have a new player in Billy Stanlanke, a giant fast bowler from Queensland with a height of 6ft 8in, making him Australia’s tallest ever cricketer, overtaking Peter George by a centimetre. Billy Stanlanke has been named in the starting XI, so is in line for an ODI debut.

Apart from Billy Stanlanke ODI debut, there will also be an ODI debut for middle order batsman Chris Lynn at his home ground.

Australia vs Pakistan 1st ODI Squads

Australia XI for Aus vs Pak Brisbane ODI

Steve Smith (Captain), David Warner, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade (Wicket Keeper), James Faulkner, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Billy Stanlake

Pakistan Squad for Aus vs Pak Brisbane ODI

Azhar Ali (Captain), Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan (Wicket Keeper), Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Junaid Khan

Posted by on January 13, 2017. Filed under Australia, Pakistan, Pakistan Tour of Australia 2016. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply