Australia vs Pakistan 2nd ODI today at Melbourne | Aus vs Pak 2017 ODI Series

Related Links: Australia vs Pakistan 2017 Schedule | Aus vs Pak 2nd ODI Scorecard

The Aus vs Pak 2nd ODI begins today at the Melbourne Cricket Ground with the hosts looking to continue their domination over the tourists who have been under fire for the quality of cricket they have produced in their present tour.

Pakistan will go into the Australia vs Pakistan 2nd ODI without their skipper Azhar Ali who has been ruled out with a hamstring injury.

The experienced Mohammad Hafeez will take over the captaincy of the Pakistan team in this Melbourne ODI.

Pakistan will also miss out on the services of veteran middle order batsman Shoaib Malik who continues to be down with throat infection which made him sit out of the Aus vs Pak 1st ODI at Brisbane.

The tourists are likely to bring in stylish batsman Asad Shafiq in Azhar Ali’s place.

Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

At the Gabba, Pakistan looked hot to win against the Aussies, the first time since 2005 across any format when they reduced the hosts to 78 for 5. However, Matthew Wade with 100 not out and Glenn Maxwell with 60 came up with a crucial partnership to lift the Aussies to 268 for 9.

Pakistan never looked in control of their run chase, losing wickets at regular intervals and eventually folding to 176 all out with not a single batsman scoring even a half century. Check out the Aus vs Pak 1st ODI Scorecard here.

Australia despite winning the first ODI by 92 runs are contemplating at making changes to their side. Josh Hazlewood who was rested at Gabba is expected to play in the Aus vs Pak 2nd ODI at MCG, in the place of giant fast bowler Billy Stanlake who did not show good stamina in his debut ODI.

Leg spinner Adam Zampa is also likely to come into the side for the Australia vs Pakistan 2nd ODI at Melbourne.

As far as the weather forecast is concerned, the Aus vs Pak 2nd ODI will see cloudy conditions which are likely to help the pace bowlers get the ball to swing around. The pitch being a drop-in type may not be that true paced, giving the slower bowlers enough opportunities to curtail the batsmen.

Australia vs Pakistan 2nd ODI Squads

Australia Squad for Aus vs Pak Melbourne ODI

David Warner, Travis Head, Steven Smith (Captain), Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade (Wicket Keeper), James Faulkner, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Billy Stanlake, Adam Zampa

Pakistan Squad for Aus vs Pak Melbourne ODI

Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez (Captain), Babar Azam, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan (Wicket Keeper), Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Asad Shafiq, Rahat Ali, Junaid Khan

Posted by on January 15, 2017. Filed under Australia, Pakistan, Pakistan Tour of Australia 2016. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply