Bangladesh Squad for ICC World Cup 2015

Filed under: Bangladesh,ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 |
Tagged with: | |

Related Link: ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

Bangladesh have announced a 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC World Cup 2015 to be played in Australia and New Zealand. The Bangladesh team is going to be led by veteran all-rounder Mashrafe Mortaza. Batting all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan has been named as the Vice-Captain of the Bangladesh World Cup team.

Bangladesh Cricket Team

Bangladesh Cricket Team

Left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak who has been a common name in the Bangladesh ODI squad has missed the boat. The focus of the Selectors was to pick as many pace bowlers as possible given the fact that the pitches in Australia and New Zealand aren’t conducive for spin. Another point to note is that grounds in New Zealand are too small to risk with for an otherwise heavily-spin oriented side like Bangladesh. Nevertheless Bangladesh are gifted with quite a lot of handy all-rounders who can double up with some spin such as Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, and possibly Nasir Hossain and Mominul Haque.

The Bangladesh Selectors have picked a third opener in the 21-year-old Soumya Sarkar who can bowl handy medium pace as well. Soumya Sarkar has just the one ODI to his experience and that too against Zimbabwe.

The specialist spinners for Bangladesh are leg-spinner Sabbir Rahman, , left-armer Tajiul Islam (who claimed a hat-trick on his ODI debut against Zimbabwe) and another left-armer Arafat Sunny.

The Bangladesh team’s main pace bowlers are the Captain Mashrafe Mortaza himself, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain and the exciting 19-year-old Taskin Ahmed who can bowl quick. Shafiul Islam, one of the most promising Bangladeshi pace bowler has missed out on selection but is in the standbys.

Bangladesh are placed in Pool A alongside Afghanistan, Australia, England, Sri Lanka, Scotland and New Zealand. Their opening match will be a tough one against minnows Afghanistan on February 18th at Canberra. It will be a tense first match for Bangladesh as they would not like to get upset by an enthusiastic and a dangerous Afghanistan team which is more than capable of pulling off an upset or two on its day.

Bangladesh Squad for ICC World Cup 2015:

Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (Wicket Keeper), Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza (Captain), Taskin Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Taijul Islam

Posted by on January 5, 2015. Filed under Bangladesh, ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply