Controversial Saeed Ajmal returns to Pakistan squad for Bangladesh Tour

Saeed Ajmal who missed the ICC World Cup 2015 due to his illegal bowling action has made a comeback in the Pakistan squad for the upcoming tour of Bangladesh. Of course, this was after Saeed Ajmal had remodelled his action and got it cleared by the ICC in February. Now will be the bigger test for the 37-year-old Saeed Ajmal on whether he can keep his improved bowling action in tact during match pressure.

Embed from Getty Images

Above photo: Saeed Ajmal bowling action

Ironically the dates of Pakistan Tour of Bangladesh 2015 are yet to be officially finalized. What we understand is that it is going to be a full tour comprising of all the three formats of the game. Pakistan have picked squads for all the three formats – Tests, ODIs and T20Is. Interestingly Pakistan has named three different Captains! Misbah-ul-Haq will continue to lead them in Tests while Azhar Ali is the new ODI Captain and Shahid Afridi is going to be the T20I Captain. These changes are because both Misbah-ul-Haq and Shahid Afridi had announced their retirements from ODIs with the ICC World Cup 2015 being their last.

While the tour fixtures are yet to be know, we understand that there will be a short three-ODI Series to begin with from April 17th. The delay for the fixtures to be announced is due to public holidays in Bangladesh.

Veteran batsman Younis Khan has been ‘rested’ from the ODIs but he keeps his place as expected in the Test Squad. The Test team has a couple of new names in 20-year-old Babar Azam and 19-year-old Sami Aslam. Both these uncapped players are batsmen.Pakistan have dropped Taufeeq Uamr, Shan Masood, Ehsan Adil, Mohammad Talha and Imran Khan who were all part of the Test squad in UAE in the series against New Zealand.

The highly talented yet under-performing Umar Akmal has been axed from all the three squads following a dismal show during the World Cup. Also dropped is opener Nasir Jamshed who struggled to get any runs in the World Cup.

Coming back in the bowling attack are Saeed Ajmal as mentioned before and also Junaid Khan who has recovered from an injury. Likewise all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez who missed the World Cup due to an injury like Junaid Khan has also been picked in the Test squad.

Out of action for this tour of Bangladesh is giant fast bowler Mohammad Irfan who sustained an injury during the World Cup. Following are Pakistan Squads for the Bangladesh Tour:

Pakistan Test Squad: Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Sami Aslam, Misbah-ul-Haq (Captain), Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Haris Sohail, Saeed Ajmal, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Sarfraz Ahmed (Wicket Keeper), Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Sohail Khan, Rahat Ali

Pakistan ODI Squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (Wicket Keeper), Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Fawad Alam, Azhar Ali (Captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Haris Sohail, Sohaib Maqsood, Sami Aslam, Saeed Ajmal, Yasir Shah, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Ehsan Adil, Sohail Khan

Pakistan T20 Squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Sarfraz Ahmed (Wicket Keeper), Mohammad Hafeez, Mukhtar Ahmed, Sohaib Maqsood, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi (Captain), Sohail Tanvir, Saad Nasim, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Khan, Umar Gul, Junaid Khan

Leave a Reply