Raina, Yuvraj miss out on selection for India T20 Squad for Florida Series

Related Link: Ind vs WI T20 Series 2016 Schedule

Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina have been omitted from the 14-member India T20 Squad for the upcoming India vs West Indies T20 Series in Florida, USA.

MS Dhoni who will lead the team in the Ind vs WI T20 Series 2016 and fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah are the only additional players to join the Indian party which is currently playing a four-match Test series in the Caribbean.

Some of the Test players will not be featuring in the T20s and have been asked to come back to India after the fourth and final Test.

India and West Indies play two T20s in Florida on August 27 and 28.

It is not sure why Suresh Raina has been dropped from the India T20 squad for the Ind vs WI T20 Series 2016 although it is understandable that Yuvraj Singh hasn’t been the same performer that he was since a very long time.

What we do know is that both the southpaws have been named in the Duleep Trophy which will be coinciding with the Ind vs WI T20 Series in Florida.

Suresh Raina Photo

Suresh Raina

As many as seven changes have been made from the ICC World T20 Squad. Apart from Raina and Yuvraj, also ignored for the Florida T20s are Hardik Pandya, Pawan Negi, Harbhajan Singh, Ashish Nehra and Manish Pandey.

Ind vs WI T20 Series 2016 News

Reports in the media suggest that it is probably because of logistical reports that some of the players have missed out on selection. Remember, this series was created out of nowhere by the BCCI and the WICB. The BCCI obviously had to deal with visa issues to its players at short notice.

This was probably why most of the players in the test squad for the West Indies tour have been retained.

According to the BCCI, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shardul Thakur, Ishant Sharma and Wriddhiman Saha will be returning home following the conclusion of the fourth Test at Port of Spain, Trinidad which is scheduled to finish on August 22.

India T20 Squad for Florida Series

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked the Indian Cricket Team for the two T20 International matches against the West Indies to be played on August 27th and 28th at Central Broward Regional Park, Fort Lauderdale, USA.

MS Dhoni (Captain and Wicket Keeper), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Lokesh Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Amit Mishra and Stuart Binny

Posted by on August 15, 2016. Filed under India, India vs West Indies T20 Series 2016 in USA. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply