Mumbai Indians Photo

IPL 2015: Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals – Match 32, Preview and Squads

Related Links: IPL 2015 Schedule and Scorecards | Scorecard of Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals (May 1)

Today’s match in IPL 8 at prime time that is at 8:00 pm in the evening is going to be Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals at the Wankhede Stadium. There is going to be enormous pressure on the Rohit Sharma led Mumbai Indians going into this match as their campaign in this IPL edition has been disastrous so far. Just the two wins and five defeats in 7 matches has the Mumbai Indians in the second last position of the IPL 2015 Points Table. Mumbai Indians are almost into a stage where they simply cannot afford to lose any more matches if they have to end up in the last four.

Things on the other hand are looking good for the Rajasthan Royals as they are placed second just below the Chennai Super Kings. The Rajasthan Royals have played nine matches already and they have won five of them and lost a couple while a couple of matches were abandoned due to rain.

Coming to the last games for the two teams. Mumbai Indians’ last game was against the Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Wankhede Stadium. In that must-win match, Mumbai Indians prevailed by 20 runs with the bowlers defending a modest total of 157. Lasith Malinga was outstanding taking 4 for 23 while left-arm speedster Mitchell McClenaghan took three wickets. With the bat, opener Lendl Simmons paved the way with his 51.

The Rajasthan Royals have lost some momentum despite a great start to their IPL 8 campaign. With five consecutive wins in their first five matches, Rajasthan Royals had surprised everyone. Rajasthan Royals’ roller coaster ride was ended by Kings XI Punjab as their encounter at Ahmedabad finished in a tied and subsequently was won by the latter in the Super Over. Most recently, in fact in what was their last match, Rajasthan Royals were lucky to get points from the abandoned clash against the Royal Challengers Bangalore at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium after their bowlers conceded a total of 200! So the Rajasthan Royals will be worried about their bowling attack and would hope that they would do a better job against the Mumbai Indians which has a couple of destructive batsmen in Rohit Sharma and Kieron Pollard.

Mumbai Indians Squad: Lendl Simmons, Parthiv Patel (Wicket Keeper), Unmukt Chand, Rohit Sharma (Captain), Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, Jagadeesha Suchith, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah, Colin Munro, Aditya Tare, Marchant de Lange, Pawan Suyal, Shreyas Gopal, Pragyan Ojha, Abhimanyu Mithun, Aiden Blizzard, Akshay Wakhare, Nitish Rana, Siddhesh Lad, Hardik Pandya, Vinay Kumar, Ben Hilfenhaus

Rajasthan Royals Squad: Shane Watson (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Steven Smith, Karun Nair, Stuart Binny, Deepak Hooda, Sanju Samson (Wicket Keeper), James Faulkner, Tim Southee, Dhawal Kulkarni, Pravin Tambe, Chris Morris, Dinesh Salunkhe, Juan Theron, Pardeep Sahu, Barinder Sran, Sagar Trivedi, Rahul Tewatia, Ankit Sharma, Vikramjeet Malik, Dishant Yagnik, Ben Cutting, Abhishek Nayar, Rajat Bhatia

Leave a Reply