IPL 2015 News: Mayank Agarwal, Yuvraj star as Delhi shock Punjab

Related Links: Pepsi IPL 2015 – Schedule and Scorecards | Scorecard of Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils at Pune (Apr 15)

Delhi Daredevils ended their year-long victory drought in the IPL, winning their first match in 12 attempts in the tournament. The hoodoo which began in IPL 2014, ended with an impressive five-wicket victory against Kings XI Punjab. Bowling first, Delhi Daredevils restricted the opposition to 165 for 7, with Imran Tahir again starring with three wickets, and JP Duminy with two. Delhi Daredevils then chased down the target thanks to half-centuries from opener Mayank Agarwal and Yuvraj Singh.

Yuvraj Singh Photo

Yuvraj Singh

Batting first, Kings XI Punjab were in a good position to dominate at 104 for 1 in the 14th over thanks to the partnership between Virender Sehwag and Wriddhiman Saha. After Murali Vijay fell for 19, Virender Sehwag and Wriddhiman Saha took the score past 100. Although they were slightly slow in doing so, they had set a nice platform for the team.

Just when they needed to accelerate, Kings XI Punjab lost Wriddhiman Saha for 39, as he was cleaned bowled by Amit Mishra. A bigger blow was dealt when JP Duminy dismissed Virender Sehwag for 47 from 41, an uncharacteristically slow innings. JP Duminy went on to get the big scalp of David Miller as well, and Kings XI Punjab started crumbling. Imran Tahir then did the rest, sending back Glenn Maxwell, George Bailey and Axar Patel. 165 for 7 was all Delhi Daredevils managed.

Chasing 166, Sandeep Sharma sent back Shreyas Iyer cheaply, but Mayank Agarwal and JP Duminy took the score past 50 before the latter was run out. Mayank Agarwal and Yuvraj Singh then featured in the match-winning partnership. The Delhi Daredevils’ opener made 68 from 48 with 7 fours and 2 sixes. Yuvraj Singh, on the other hand, contributed 55 from 39 with 5 fours and 3 sixes. They were particularly severe on Mitchell Johnson, who was taken for 43 in his 4 overs. Delhi Daredevils eventually won by five wickets.

Posted by on April 16, 2015. Filed under India, IPL 2015. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply