IPL 2015 News: All-round show by Hyderabad sinks Bangalore

Related Links: Pepsi IPL 2015 – Schedule and Scorecards | Scorecard of Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Match 8 at Bangalore (Apr 13): Pepsi IPL 2015

David Warner Photo

David Warner

Royal Challengers Bangalore went into the match at their home ground M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru against Sunrisers Hyderabad as favourites since they had beaten KKR in their opening encounter. And on the other hand, Sunrisers Hyderabad had lost their previous match pretty easily. But, in T20, there is nothing as favourites since a standout performance by one player can change the course of the match. Sunrisers Hyderabad however came up with an excellent all-round effort to get the better of RCB. Bowling first, they restricted RCB to 166, and then chased down the target with ease, with 8 wickets and plenty of balls in hand.

Batting first, Royal Challengers Bangalore got off to a cracking start, with Chris Gayle and Captain Virat Kohli finding the boundaries with ease. But, just as Sunrisers Hyderabad were beginning to worry, Chris Gayle chipped Praveen Kumar into the hands of Ashish Reddy for 21. Dinesh Karthik then mistimed a slog sweep from leg spinner Karn Sharma to be dismissed for 9. Ravi Bopara turned out to be the surprise hero for Sunrisers Hyderabad as he cleaned up Virat Kohli for 41, and sent back Mandeep Singh off the very next ball.

At 93 for 4, Royal Challengers Bangalore needed AB de Villiers to fire. He cruised his way to 46 from 28 with the help of 5 fours and 2 sixes, but while AB de Villiers did his job, he got no support from others. Darren Sammy fell cheaply, and RCB completely collapsed as Sean Abbott, Harshal Patel and the tail could not contribute much. New Zealand left-arm swing bowler Trent Boult starred for Sunrisers Hyderabad with three scalps while Ravi Bopara and Bhuvneshwar Kumar picked up two each.

Chasing 167, Sunrisers Hyderabad got off to a rollicking start with a flurry of boundaries from Skipper David Warner. The Aussie opener smashed 57 from 27 balls, a knock which featured six fours and 4 sixes. Shikhar Dhawan was a bit more subdued, but even he finished unbeaten on 50 from 42 with 4 fours and 2 sixes. With no pressure of run rate, Lokesh Rahul eased his way to an unbeaten 44 from 28 balls. Yuzvendra Chahal was the only Bangalore bowler to impress, though it must be said that they weren’t helped by the dew.

Posted by on April 14, 2015. Filed under India, IPL 2015. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply