IPL 2015: Kolkata Knight Riders take on Mumbai Indians in tournament opener

Related Links: Pepsi IPL 2015 – Schedule | Scorecard of Kolkata Knight Riders vs Mumbai Indians at Kolkata (Apr 8, 2015)

The eighth edition of the Indian Premier League will kick off with defending champions Kolkata Knight Riders taking on another former champions Mumbai Indians in the opening match of the tournament at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Wednesday, April 8. The match will be played at 8 pm (IST). Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians are two of the most popular sides in the event. Hence a large crowd is expected to turn up and witness the opening encounter of IPL 8. While Kolkata Knight Riders will be led by Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma will captain Mumbai Indians. KKR have won the IPL twice while Mumbai Indians have captured it once.

There are many star players in Kolkata Knight Riders. Their Captain Gautam Gambhir is one of their biggest assets at the top of the order. He has been in good form in the event over the last couple of seasons. Gautam Gambhir’s partnership with Robin Uthappa at the top of the order has been one of the chief reasons behind Kolkata Knight Riders’ success. Robin Uthappa has improved his game drastically over the last couple of seasons, and has become a dependable opener for the team. KKR would also be buoyed by the clearance given to Sunil Narine, as he is one the keys to the team’s success. Also, in Shakib Al Hasan, they have one of the finest all-rounders in the game.

On the other hand, Mumbai Indians also aren’t short on star power. In captain Rohit Sharma, they have a brilliant big-hitter at the top of the order, with a wonderful record in the IPL. Then, there is Kieron Pollard, who may have been dumped by West Indies, but is very much an integral part of the Mumbai Indians’ unit, and was in fact the standout performer when the franchise lifted the title. Mumbai Indians will also hope for a smashing performance from Corey J Anderson, who has played some special knocks for New Zealand. His medium pace bowling is an added advantage. Lasith Malinga and Harbhajan Singh add teeth to their bowling attack.

Looking at the two teams, a tight contest could be on the cards.

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad: Gautam Gambhir (Captain), Robin Uthappa (Wicket Keeper), Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Suryakumar Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Sunil Narine, Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav, Andre Russell, Kuldeep Yadav, Pat Cummins, Johan Botha, Azhar Mahmood, Brad Hogg, Sumit Narwal, Sheldon Jackson, Aditya Garhwal, Kishan Cariappa, Vaibhav Rawal, Veer Pratap Singh

Mumbai Indians Squad: Aaron Finch, Aditya Tare (Wicket Keeper), Rohit Sharma (Captain), Corey Anderson, Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Shreyas Gopal, Harbhajan Singh, Vinay Kumar, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah, Pragyan Ojha, Lendl Simmons, Unmukt Chand, Parthiv Patel, Josh Hazlewood, Marchant de Lange, Pawan Suyal, Mitchell McClenaghan, Abhimanyu Mithun, Aiden Blizzard, Akshay Wakhare, Nitish Rana, Siddhesh Lad, Hardik Pandya, Jagadeesha Suchith

Posted by on April 8, 2015. Filed under India, IPL 2015. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply