Cricket Australia

Australia vs India, 1st Test will be at Adelaide on December 9

Cricket Australia has released a revised Commonwealth Bank Test Series between Australia and India today. The 4-Test match series was due to begin on the 4th of this month at Brisbane. But due to the sad death of Phillip Hughes, cricket had become paralyzed in Australia as it affected the players mentally. With Phillip Hughes’ funeral scheduled to take place on December 3rd becoming more or less a national event, the Test series between Australia and India has been postponed.

Embed from Getty Images

The first Test will now be at the Adelaide Oval instead of Gabba and will begin on December 9th. What it means that the Australian Skipper Michael Clarke could get fit by then and for India, MS Dhoni could possibly play as well should he recover from his finger injury.

Brisbane which was to host the first Test will now be hosting the 2nd Test which starts from December 17th. There will be a three-day break between the first two Tests. The third Test has been untouched and as scheduled earlier will stay at Melbourne to keep up with the Boxing Day tradition. A 4-day break will be there for the players before they get into the third Test which begins on the 26th of December.

The fourth and final Test, the new year Test match has been pushed back to January 6th to allow for a six-day break for the players to recover. There will be a five-day break between the conclusion of the Test Series and the start of the Carlton Mid ODI Tri-Series between Australia, India and England.

Here is the revised schedule of the 4-match Australia vs India – Commonwealth Bank Test Series, 2014/15:

  • Dec 9-13, 2014: Australia vs India, 1st Test at Adelaide
  • Dec 17-21, 2014: Australia vs India, 2nd Test at Brisbane
  • Dec 26-30, 2014: Australia vs India, 3rd Test at Melbourne
  • Jan 6-10, 2015: Australia vs India, 4th Test at Sydney

Leave a Reply