Virat Kohli

Team India all set for New Zealand challenge

After a short and interesting three-match ODI series against Australia at home, Team India travels to New Zealand on a full-fledged tour.

India tour of New Zealand 2020 comprises five T20Is, three ODIs, and a couple of test matches.

Although India looks to be the stronger side on paper, one cannot forget that the Kiwis were the runners up in the ICC World Cup 2019, and the fact that they defeated the former in the semi finals. This is why it is not easy to predict who will win the upcoming series, but you can get a hint or two from the Betting odds in India. By checking the betting odds, you surely can see who has the highest potential of winning.

The tour kicks off on 24 January with the first T20 at Eden Park in Auckland. The second T20 will be played at the same venue on 26 January. The teams then move on to the Seddon Park in Hamilton for the third T20 on 29 January. The fourth and fifth T20Is will be played on 29 January at Westpac Stadium, Wellington and on 2 February at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui, respectively.

All the three T20Is are scheduled to begin at 12:30 PM IST.

Rohit Sharma returns to the T20 team having been rested in the home series against Sri Lanka, reported Cricinfo.

India T20 squad : Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (Vice Captain), Lokesh Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (Wicket Keeper), Shivam Dube, JaspritBumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini, and Shardul Thakur

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

New Zealand Herald reported that medium pacer Hamish Bennett has made a comeback in the New Zealand team, and is set to play his first match for his country in nearly three years.

New Zealand T20 squad : Kane Williamson (Captain), Hamish Bennett, Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (Wicket Keeper), Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Tom Bruce (matches four and five), and Colin de Grandhomme (matchesone and three)

The first ODI between New Zealand and India will be played on 8 February at Seddon Park. The second ODI will be played at Eden Park on 8 February, while the third and final ODI will be at Bay Oval on 11 February.

All the three ODIs will be day night matches, scheduled to begin at 7:30 AM IST.

India will prepare for the short test series with a three-day warm-up match against New Zealand XI at Seddon Park, which begins on 14 February.

The first of the two Test matches of India tour of New Zealand 2020 will be played at Basin Reserve in Wellington, which begins on 21 February. The New Zealand vs India 2nd test match will be played at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch from 29 February.

Both the test matches are scheduled to begin at 4:00 AM IST.

Leave a Reply